Comparison
Ruby vs Smith.ai (2026): price, fit, and which to pick
Both answer the calls you can't. Ruby uses live receptionists; the Smith.ai plans in our data are its AI receptionist. Price, and whether your callers will talk to an AI, decide it. Everything below was read from each vendor's own page on Oct 17, 2026; unknowns are marked unknown, never guessed.
Prices checked
Short answer
Ruby is live human receptionists from $250/mo. Smith.ai's AI receptionist has a free plan (25 calls a month, $3 per call after) and paid plans from $150/mo. Smith.ai lets you test for $0; Ruby is the pick when callers expect a real person or you need 24/7 Spanish call handling (vendor claim).
Ruby vs Smith.ai side by side
| Ruby | Smith.ai AI Receptionist | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From $250/mo (live receptionists) | Free (25 calls/mo); paid from $150/mo |
| Plans & pricing | Receptionist plans $250 / $395 / $720 / $1,725 per month; chat plans from $115/mo (10 chats). | Free: 25 calls/mo ($3/call after). $150/mo (~$2/call); $500/mo done-for-you (~$1.67/call). Higher tiers listed. |
| Free plan | No | Yes |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Extra users & fees | Not published / not in our data | Not published / not in our data |
| Spanish | 24/7 Spanish and bilingual call handling available | Not published (unknown) |
| Crew size we match | every crew size, from solo owners to 16+ people | solo owners and crews of 2–5 and 6–15 people |
| Trades we match | all 12 trades we cover | all 12 trades we cover |
| Best for | Every crew size, from solo owners to 16+ people; Trades: all 12 trades we cover; Spanish needs (vendor claim): 24/7 Spanish and bilingual call handling available | Solo owners and crews of 2–5 and 6–15 people; Trades: all 12 trades we cover; Trying it for $0: it has a free plan |
| Maybe not for | Anyone who needs a $0 plan: there is no free plan | Crews of 16+ people: outside the crew sizes we match it to; Teams that need Spanish: no Spanish support published (unknown) |
| Connects to (vendor-claimed) | None listed / not checked | Zapier |
| Price checked & source | · vendor pricing page | · vendor pricing page |
Which should you pick?
Pick Ruby if…
- Callers expect a real person: Ruby's plans are live receptionists ($250 / $395 / $720 / $1,725 per month).
- You need Spanish: Ruby says 24/7 Spanish and bilingual call handling is available.
- You also want website chat: Ruby's chat plans start at $115/mo (10 chats).
- You have 16+ people: we match Ruby to crews that size; Smith.ai tops out at 6–15 people.
Pick Smith.ai if…
- You want to measure missed calls for $0 first: the free plan covers 25 calls a month ($3 per call after).
- Budget matters: $150/mo (about $2 a call) or $500/mo done-for-you (about $1.67 a call), per the vendor.
- You use Zapier: Smith.ai lists it as an integration (vendor claim); Ruby doesn't in our data.
What we couldn't verify
- Whether Ruby offers a free trial: not stated on the vendor page.
- Smith.ai's Spanish support: nothing published that we found.
- Integrations and language support are vendor claims we have not tested.
Alternatives to Ruby and Smith.ai
- Call answering (AI & live)RosieFrom $49/mo (Professional, 250 minutes)Rosie pricing
- Call answering (AI & live)GoodcallFrom $79/mo (Starter)Goodcall pricing
- Call answering (AI & live)ServiceAgent.aiFree (Launch); paid from $49/moServiceAgent.ai pricing
Picks for your trade
Software by trade:HVAC · Plumbing · Electrical · Roofing · Landscaping / lawn · Cleaning · Remodeling / general contracting · Painting · Pest control · Handyman · Pool service · Garage doors
Related comparisons
- Rosie vs Smith.ai: Spanish on every call from $49/mo vs a free plan with 25 calls a month.
Ruby vs Smith.ai FAQ
Is Ruby cheaper than Smith.ai?
Starting prices from the vendor pages (checked Oct 17, 2026): Ruby, from $250/mo (live receptionists). Smith.ai, free (25 calls/mo); paid from $150/mo. So Smith.ai has the lower entry price. Per-user fees and add-ons change the real total, so check the full plan list in the table above.
Do Ruby and Smith.ai have a free trial or free plan?
Ruby: has no free plan; free trial not stated. Smith.ai: has a free plan; free trial not stated. Trial terms are from each vendor's page, checked Oct 17, 2026.
Which is better for a solo owner or a small crew, Ruby or Smith.ai?
We match Ruby to every crew size, from solo owners to 16+ people, and Smith.ai to solo owners and crews of 2–5 and 6–15 people. By trade, Ruby fits all 12 trades we cover; Smith.ai fits all 12 trades we cover. Crew-size and trade fit are our editorial judgment based on each vendor's positioning.
Do Ruby and Smith.ai support Spanish?
Ruby says: 24/7 Spanish and bilingual call handling available. Smith.ai: no published Spanish claim on record, so ask before you buy. Language support is a vendor claim we have not tested.
What do Ruby and Smith.ai connect to?
Ruby lists no integrations in our data; Smith.ai lists Zapier (vendor claims, not tested by us).
Sources (vendor pages): Ruby (checked Oct 17, 2026) · Smith.ai AI Receptionist (checked Oct 17, 2026). Crew-size and trade fit are our editorial judgment. No vendor paid for this page. All comparisons · take the 6-question quiz.
Free newsletter
Get price-change alerts
One short email from Tools for the Trade when a tool you might use changes its price or plans. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.
Sent with Kit. We'll ask you to confirm by email first.