Which Tool for the Job

This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through one, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Picks never depend on commissions. Disclosure

Best AI answering service for contractors (2026): Rosie vs Smith.ai vs Goodcall vs Ruby

Every missed call can be a lost job. Here's what each call-answering service charges and offers, read from the vendors' own pricing pages on Oct 17, 2026. We list unknowns as unknown.

RosieSmith.ai AI ReceptionistGoodcallRubyServiceAgent.ai
TypeAI answeringAI answeringAI answeringLive human receptionistsAI answering
Starting priceFrom $49/mo (Professional, 250 minutes)Free (25 calls/mo); paid from $150/moFrom $79/mo (Starter)From $250/mo (live receptionists)Free (Launch); paid from $49/mo
Plans & pricingProfessional $49/mo (250 min), Scale $149/mo, Growth $299/mo. Minutes for Scale/Growth were 1,000 / 2,000 per earlier research (Pressure Test, 2026-10-04).Free: 25 calls/mo ($3/call after). $150/mo (~$2/call); $500/mo done-for-you (~$1.67/call). Higher tiers listed.Starter $79/mo, Growth $129/mo, Scale $299/mo. Free demo agent; you pay when you connect a phone number.Receptionist plans $250 / $395 / $720 / $1,725 per month; chat plans from $115/mo (10 chats).Launch $0; Core $49 monthly / $39 billed annually; Growth $119 / $95; Franchise $349 / $279. Plans include usage credits.
Free planNoYesNoNoYes
Free trial7 days; unknownNot statedFree demo agent (pay when you connect a number); unknownNot statedNot stated
SpanishEnglish & Spanish on every callUnknown / not publishedUnknown / not published24/7 Spanish and bilingual call handling availableUnknown / not published
Integrations (vendor-claimed)ZapierZapierZapierUnknown / not publishedUnknown / not published
Price checked2026-10-172026-10-172026-10-172026-10-172026-10-17

Which one fits

Test it for $0: Smith.ai or ServiceAgent.ai

Smith.ai's AI receptionist has a free plan with 25 calls/month ($3/call after). ServiceAgent.ai has a $0 Launch plan. Good for finding out how many calls you actually miss before paying.

See Smith.ai free plan →

Spanish-speaking callers: Rosie

Rosie says it handles English & Spanish on every call, from $49/mo (250 minutes), with a 7-day free trial.

Try Rosie → 50% off your first month through our link

Predictable flat tiers: Goodcall

$79 / $129 / $299 per month. Instead of a trial, Goodcall lets you build and test a free demo agent and pay only when you connect a number.

See Goodcall →

Callers expect a real person: Ruby

Live receptionists from $250/mo, with 24/7 Spanish and bilingual call handling available (vendor). Costs the most, and it's the only human option here.

See Ruby plans →

Already using a job app or business phone?

What we couldn't verify

Sources (vendor pages, checked Oct 17, 2026): Rosie · Smith.ai AI Receptionist · Goodcall · Ruby · ServiceAgent.ai. Integrations and language support are vendor claims we have not tested. No vendor paid for this page; see our disclosure.

Want this matched to your trade and budget? Take the quiz with "missed calls" selected.

Get price-change alerts

One short email when a tool you might use changes its price or plans. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

Free newsletter sent with Kit. We'll ask you to confirm by email first.