Tools for the Trade logoTools for the Trade

Comparison

Rosie vs Smith.ai (2026): price, fit, and which to pick

Both are AI receptionists that answer missed calls and capture leads, and both list a Zapier integration. Rosie is one of our affiliate partners; that doesn't change anything on this page, and the facts below come from each vendor's own pricing page. Everything below was read from each vendor's own page on Oct 17, 2026; unknowns are marked unknown, never guessed.

Prices checked

This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through one, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Picks never depend on commissions. Disclosure

Short answer

Smith.ai's AI receptionist has a free plan (25 calls a month, $3 per call after), then $150/mo. Rosie starts at $49/mo for 250 minutes with a 7-day free trial and says it handles English and Spanish on every call. Smith.ai is the $0 way to test; Rosie has the lower first paid plan and the Spanish claim.

Rosie vs Smith.ai side by side

RosieSmith.ai AI Receptionist
Starting priceFrom $49/mo (Professional, 250 minutes)Free (25 calls/mo); paid from $150/mo
Plans & pricingProfessional $49/mo (250 min), Scale $149/mo, Growth $299/mo. Minutes for Scale/Growth were 1,000 / 2,000 per earlier research (Pressure Test, 2026-10-04).Free: 25 calls/mo ($3/call after). $150/mo (~$2/call); $500/mo done-for-you (~$1.67/call). Higher tiers listed.
Free planNoYes
Free trial7 days; unknownNot stated
Extra users & feesNot published / not in our dataNot published / not in our data
SpanishEnglish & Spanish on every callNot published (unknown)
Crew size we matchsolo owners and crews of 2–5 and 6–15 peoplesolo owners and crews of 2–5 and 6–15 people
Trades we matchall 12 trades we coverall 12 trades we cover
Best forSolo owners and crews of 2–5 and 6–15 people; Trades: all 12 trades we cover; Testing before you pay. Free trial: 7 daysSolo owners and crews of 2–5 and 6–15 people; Trades: all 12 trades we cover; Trying it for $0: it has a free plan
Maybe not forCrews of 16+ people: outside the crew sizes we match it to; Anyone who needs a $0 plan: there is no free planCrews of 16+ people: outside the crew sizes we match it to; Teams that need Spanish: no Spanish support published (unknown)
Connects to (vendor-claimed)ZapierZapier
Price checked & source · vendor pricing page · vendor pricing page

Which should you pick?

Pick Rosie if…

  • Your callers speak Spanish: Rosie says it handles English and Spanish on every call; we have no Spanish claim on record for Smith.ai.
  • You'd rather pay a low flat fee than per call: Professional is $49/mo for 250 minutes; Scale is $149/mo and Growth $299/mo (minutes on those two not confirmed on the vendor page).
Visit Rosie 50% off your first month through our link

Pick Smith.ai if…

  • You want to try it for $0 with no time limit: the free plan covers 25 calls a month ($3 per call after).
  • You expect a lot of calls: paid plans are $150/mo (about $2 a call) or $500/mo done-for-you (about $1.67 a call).
Visit Smith.ai

Rosie is an affiliate partner: if you sign up through our link we may earn a commission. It doesn't change this comparison; both columns use the same data rules (disclosure).

What we couldn't verify

  • Whether Rosie's trial needs a card.
  • Rosie, not confirmed on the vendor page: Minutes for Scale/Growth were 1,000 / 2,000 per earlier research (Pressure Test, 2026-10-04).
  • Smith.ai's Spanish support: nothing published that we found.
  • Integrations and language support are vendor claims we have not tested.

Alternatives to Rosie and Smith.ai

Picks for your trade

Software by trade:HVAC · Plumbing · Electrical · Roofing · Landscaping / lawn · Cleaning · Remodeling / general contracting · Painting · Pest control · Handyman · Pool service · Garage doors

Related comparisons

  • Ruby vs Smith.ai: Live human receptionists from $250/mo vs an AI receptionist with a free plan.

Rosie vs Smith.ai FAQ

Is Rosie cheaper than Smith.ai?

Starting prices from the vendor pages (checked Oct 17, 2026): Rosie, from $49/mo (Professional, 250 minutes). Smith.ai, free (25 calls/mo); paid from $150/mo. So Smith.ai has the lower entry price. Per-user fees and add-ons change the real total, so check the full plan list in the table above.

Do Rosie and Smith.ai have a free trial or free plan?

Rosie: has no free plan; free trial: 7 days. Smith.ai: has a free plan; free trial not stated. Trial terms are from each vendor's page, checked Oct 17, 2026.

Which is better for a solo owner or a small crew, Rosie or Smith.ai?

We match Rosie to solo owners and crews of 2–5 and 6–15 people, and Smith.ai to solo owners and crews of 2–5 and 6–15 people. By trade, Rosie fits all 12 trades we cover; Smith.ai fits all 12 trades we cover. Crew-size and trade fit are our editorial judgment based on each vendor's positioning.

Do Rosie and Smith.ai support Spanish?

Rosie says: English & Spanish on every call. Smith.ai: no published Spanish claim on record, so ask before you buy. Language support is a vendor claim we have not tested.

What do Rosie and Smith.ai connect to?

Rosie lists Zapier; Smith.ai lists Zapier (vendor claims, not tested by us).

Sources (vendor pages): Rosie (checked Oct 17, 2026) · Smith.ai AI Receptionist (checked Oct 17, 2026). Crew-size and trade fit are our editorial judgment. No vendor paid for this page. All comparisons · take the 6-question quiz.

Free newsletter

Get price-change alerts

One short email from Tools for the Trade when a tool you might use changes its price or plans. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

Sent with Kit. We'll ask you to confirm by email first.