Tools for the Trade logoTools for the Trade

Comparison

Gusto vs Square Payroll (2026): price, fit, and which to pick

Both run payroll and file payroll taxes for a small crew. With the same $6 per-person fee on the entry plan, the difference is the base price, the tiers above it, and what else you already use. Everything below was read from each vendor's own page on Oct 17, 2026; unknowns are marked unknown, never guessed.

Prices checked

Short answer

Square Payroll lists full-service payroll at $35/mo plus $6 per person paid. Gusto Simple is $49/mo plus $6 per person (one state), with Plus ($80 + $12/person) and Premium ($180 + $22/person) above it. Square Payroll costs less to start; Gusto has more tiers, and we match it to crews of 16+ too.

Gusto vs Square Payroll side by side

GustoSquare Payroll
Starting price$49/mo + $6 per person (Simple)$35/mo + $6 per person
Plans & pricingSimple $49/mo + $6/person (one state); Plus $80/mo + $12/person; Premium $180/mo + $22/person. Month-to-month. Contractor-only plan closed to new customers on 2026-10-01 (vendor help center).Full-service payroll from $35/mo + $6 per person paid (as listed on Square's pricing page).
Free planNoNo
Free trialNot statedNot stated
Extra users & fees$6/mo per extra user or person (vendor)$6/mo per extra user or person (vendor)
SpanishNot published (unknown)Not published (unknown)
Crew size we matchcrews of 2–5, 6–15 and 16+ peoplecrews of 2–5 and 6–15 people
Trades we matchall 12 trades we coverall 12 trades we cover
Best forCrews of 2–5, 6–15 and 16+ people; Trades: all 12 trades we cover; Knowing the price up front: plan prices are publishedCrews of 2–5 and 6–15 people; Trades: all 12 trades we cover; Knowing the price up front: plan prices are published
Maybe not forSolo owners: outside the crew sizes we match it to; Anyone who needs a $0 plan: there is no free plan; Teams that need Spanish: no Spanish support published (unknown)Solo owners or crews of 16+ people: outside the crew sizes we match it to; Anyone who needs a $0 plan: there is no free plan; Teams that need Spanish: no Spanish support published (unknown)
Connects to (vendor-claimed)None listed / not checkedSquare
Price checked & source · vendor pricing page (read via search snippet; direct fetch blocked) · vendor pricing page

Which should you pick?

Pick Gusto if…

  • You want room to grow: Plus ($80/mo + $12/person) and Premium ($180/mo + $22/person) sit above Simple, all month-to-month (vendor).
  • You pay contractors: Gusto's contractor-only plan closed to new customers on Oct 1, 2026, but contractors can be paid on any current plan (vendor help center).
  • You have 16+ people: we match Gusto to crews that size; Square Payroll tops out at 6–15 people.
  • Your other apps need to connect: 2 tools in our directory list a Gusto integration (for example Jobber and JobTread), vs 0 for Square Payroll.
Visit Gusto

Pick Square Payroll if…

  • You want the lower base fee: $35/mo vs $49/mo for Gusto Simple, with the same $6 per person.
  • You already take payments with Square: Square Payroll lists Square as its integration.
Visit Square Payroll

What we couldn't verify

  • Whether Gusto offers a free trial: not stated on the vendor page.
  • Gusto's Spanish support: nothing published that we found.
  • Gusto's pricing page blocked direct reading; prices were read from the vendor page via a search snippet.
  • Whether Square Payroll offers a free trial: not stated on the vendor page.
  • Square Payroll's Spanish support: nothing published that we found.
  • Integrations and language support are vendor claims we have not tested.

Alternatives to Gusto and Square Payroll

Picks for your trade

Software by trade:HVAC · Plumbing · Electrical · Roofing · Landscaping / lawn · Cleaning · Remodeling / general contracting · Painting · Pest control · Handyman · Pool service · Garage doors

Gusto vs Square Payroll FAQ

Is Gusto cheaper than Square Payroll?

Starting prices from the vendor pages (checked Oct 17, 2026): Gusto, $49/mo + $6 per person (Simple). Square Payroll, $35/mo + $6 per person. So Square Payroll has the lower entry price. Per-user fees and add-ons change the real total, so check the full plan list in the table above.

Do Gusto and Square Payroll have a free trial or free plan?

Gusto: has no free plan; free trial not stated. Square Payroll: has no free plan; free trial not stated. Trial terms are from each vendor's page, checked Oct 17, 2026.

Which is better for a solo owner or a small crew, Gusto or Square Payroll?

We match Gusto to crews of 2–5, 6–15 and 16+ people, and Square Payroll to crews of 2–5 and 6–15 people. By trade, Gusto fits all 12 trades we cover; Square Payroll fits all 12 trades we cover. Crew-size and trade fit are our editorial judgment based on each vendor's positioning.

Do Gusto and Square Payroll support Spanish?

Gusto: no published Spanish claim on record, so ask before you buy. Square Payroll: no published Spanish claim on record, so ask before you buy. Language support is a vendor claim we have not tested.

What do Gusto and Square Payroll connect to?

Gusto lists no integrations in our data; Square Payroll lists Square (vendor claims, not tested by us).

Sources (vendor pages): Gusto (checked Oct 17, 2026) · Square Payroll (checked Oct 17, 2026). Crew-size and trade fit are our editorial judgment. No vendor paid for this page. All comparisons · take the 6-question quiz.

Free newsletter

Get price-change alerts

One short email from Tools for the Trade when a tool you might use changes its price or plans. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

Sent with Kit. We'll ask you to confirm by email first.