Tools for the Trade logoTools for the Trade

Tool pricing

Square Payroll pricing (2026): plans, free trial, and who it's for

Square Payroll is in our payroll category. Here is what it costs, what the free plan and trial include, and which crews it fits, read from the vendor's own page on Oct 17, 2026. Unknowns are marked unknown, never guessed.

Prices checked

Short answer

Square Payroll pricing: $35/mo + $6 per person. Free plan: no. Free trial: not stated. Fits crews of 2–5 and 6–15 people, in all 12 trades we cover.

How much does Square Payroll cost?

PlanMonthly priceUsers included
Payroll$35/moBase fee; each person billed extra

Full pricing notes (vendor page, checked Oct 17, 2026): Full-service payroll from $35/mo + $6 per person paid (as listed on Square's pricing page).

Extra-user cost: $6/mo per extra user or person (vendor).

Square Payroll key facts

Starting price
$35/mo + $6 per person
Free plan
No
Free trial
Not stated
Card needed to start
Unknown
Extra-user cost
$6/mo per extra user or person (vendor)
Spanish
Not published (unknown)
Crew size we match
crews of 2–5 and 6–15 people
Trades we match
all 12 trades we cover
What it does
payroll, tax filing
Connects to (vendor-claimed)
Square
Source
Vendor pricing page, checked · open vendor source

Who is Square Payroll best for?

Best for

  • Crews of 2–5 and 6–15 people
  • Trades: all 12 trades we cover
  • Knowing the price up front: plan prices are published

Maybe not for

  • Solo owners or crews of 16+ people: outside the crew sizes we match it to
  • Anyone who needs a $0 plan: there is no free plan
  • Teams that need Spanish: no Spanish support published (unknown)

Crew-size and trade fit are our editorial judgment based on the vendor's positioning. Everything else comes from the vendor's page. Integrations and language support are vendor claims we have not tested.

What are the alternatives to Square Payroll?

Square Payroll FAQ

How much does Square Payroll cost?

$35/mo + $6 per person, per the vendor page checked on Oct 17, 2026. Full-service payroll from $35/mo + $6 per person paid (as listed on Square's pricing page).

Does Square Payroll have a free plan?

No. Square Payroll has no free plan in our data (checked Oct 17, 2026).

Does Square Payroll have a free trial?

Not stated. We did not find free-trial terms for Square Payroll on its vendor page.

Is Square Payroll available in Spanish?

Unknown. We have no published Spanish-support claim on record for Square Payroll, so ask the vendor before you buy.

Who is Square Payroll best for?

Square Payroll fits crews of 2–5 and 6–15 people, in all 12 trades we cover. It covers payroll and tax filing. Crew-size and trade fit are our editorial judgment based on the vendor's positioning.

No vendor paid for this page. Prices change; confirm on the vendor's site. See our methodology and disclosure.

Free newsletter

Get price-change alerts

One short email from Tools for the Trade when a tool you might use changes its price or plans. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

Sent with Kit. We'll ask you to confirm by email first.