Tools for the Trade logoTools for the Trade

Tool pricing

Gusto pricing (2026): plans, free trial, and who it's for

Gusto is in our payroll category. Here is what it costs, what the free plan and trial include, and which crews it fits, read from the vendor's own page on Oct 17, 2026. Unknowns are marked unknown, never guessed.

Prices checked

Short answer

Gusto pricing: $49/mo + $6 per person (Simple). Free plan: no. Free trial: not stated. Fits crews of 2–5, 6–15 and 16+ people, in all 12 trades we cover.

How much does Gusto cost?

PlanMonthly priceUsers included
Simple$49/moBase fee; each person billed extra

Full pricing notes (vendor page, checked Oct 17, 2026): Simple $49/mo + $6/person (one state); Plus $80/mo + $12/person; Premium $180/mo + $22/person. Month-to-month. Contractor-only plan closed to new customers on 2026-10-01 (vendor help center).

Extra-user cost: $6/mo per extra user or person (vendor).

Gusto key facts

Starting price
$49/mo + $6 per person (Simple)
Free plan
No
Free trial
Not stated
Card needed to start
Unknown
Extra-user cost
$6/mo per extra user or person (vendor)
Spanish
Not published (unknown)
Crew size we match
crews of 2–5, 6–15 and 16+ people
Trades we match
all 12 trades we cover
What it does
payroll, tax filing, HR
Connects to (vendor-claimed)
None listed / not checked
Source
Vendor pricing page (read via search snippet; direct fetch blocked), checked · open vendor source

Who is Gusto best for?

Best for

  • Crews of 2–5, 6–15 and 16+ people
  • Trades: all 12 trades we cover
  • Knowing the price up front: plan prices are published

Maybe not for

  • Solo owners: outside the crew sizes we match it to
  • Anyone who needs a $0 plan: there is no free plan
  • Teams that need Spanish: no Spanish support published (unknown)

Crew-size and trade fit are our editorial judgment based on the vendor's positioning. Everything else comes from the vendor's page. Integrations and language support are vendor claims we have not tested.

What are the alternatives to Gusto?

Comparisons and guides that cover Gusto

Price and plan changes we logged

  • : plan change. Contractor-only plan closed to new customers; contractors can be paid on any current plan. source

See every change on the price-change log.

Gusto FAQ

How much does Gusto cost?

$49/mo + $6 per person (Simple), per the vendor page checked on Oct 17, 2026. Simple $49/mo + $6/person (one state); Plus $80/mo + $12/person; Premium $180/mo + $22/person. Month-to-month. Contractor-only plan closed to new customers on 2026-10-01 (vendor help center).

Does Gusto have a free plan?

No. Gusto has no free plan in our data (checked Oct 17, 2026).

Does Gusto have a free trial?

Not stated. We did not find free-trial terms for Gusto on its vendor page.

Is Gusto available in Spanish?

Unknown. We have no published Spanish-support claim on record for Gusto, so ask the vendor before you buy.

Who is Gusto best for?

Gusto fits crews of 2–5, 6–15 and 16+ people, in all 12 trades we cover. It covers payroll, tax filing and HR. Crew-size and trade fit are our editorial judgment based on the vendor's positioning.

No vendor paid for this page. Prices change; confirm on the vendor's site. See our methodology and disclosure.

Free newsletter

Get price-change alerts

One short email from Tools for the Trade when a tool you might use changes its price or plans. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

Sent with Kit. We'll ask you to confirm by email first.