Tools for the Trade logoTools for the Trade

Tool pricing

Square pricing (2026): plans, free trial, and who it's for

Square is in our accounting & payments category. Here is what it costs, what the free plan and trial include, and which crews it fits, read from the vendor's own page on Oct 17, 2026. Unknowns are marked unknown, never guessed.

Prices checked

Short answer

Square pricing: Free plan; Plus $49/mo per location. Free plan: yes. Free trial: 30 days. Fits solo owners and crews of 2–5 and 6–15 people, in all 12 trades we cover.

How much does Square cost?

PlanMonthly priceUsers included
Free$0/moNot stated
Plus$49/moNot stated

Full pricing notes (vendor page, checked Oct 17, 2026): Square Free $0/mo; Plus $49/mo and Premium $149/mo per location. Processing fees vary by plan. Invoice ACH: 1%, $1 min, $10 cap.

Extra-user cost: Not published / not in our data.

Payment processing (vendor page): Processing fees vary by plan. Invoice ACH: 1%, $1 min, $10 cap.

Square key facts

Starting price
Free plan; Plus $49/mo per location
Free plan
Yes
Free trial
30 days (Plus and Premium)
Card needed to start
Unknown
Extra-user cost
Not published / not in our data
Spanish
Not published (unknown)
Crew size we match
solo owners and crews of 2–5 and 6–15 people
Trades we match
all 12 trades we cover
What it does
invoicing, card payments, estimates
Connects to (vendor-claimed)
Google Calendar
Source
Vendor pricing page, checked · open vendor source

Who is Square best for?

Best for

  • Solo owners and crews of 2–5 and 6–15 people
  • Trades: all 12 trades we cover
  • Trying it for $0: it has a free plan
  • Testing before you pay. Free trial: 30 days (Plus and Premium)
  • Knowing the price up front: plan prices are published

Maybe not for

  • Crews of 16+ people: outside the crew sizes we match it to
  • Teams that need Spanish: no Spanish support published (unknown)

Crew-size and trade fit are our editorial judgment based on the vendor's positioning. Everything else comes from the vendor's page. Integrations and language support are vendor claims we have not tested.

What are the alternatives to Square?

Comparisons and guides that cover Square

Square FAQ

How much does Square cost?

Free plan; Plus $49/mo per location, per the vendor page checked on Oct 17, 2026. Square Free $0/mo; Plus $49/mo and Premium $149/mo per location. Processing fees vary by plan. Invoice ACH: 1%, $1 min, $10 cap.

Does Square have a free plan?

Yes. Square has a free plan, per its vendor page.

Does Square have a free trial?

Square's trial, per the vendor: 30 days (Plus and Premium). Whether a card is required is not stated.

Is Square available in Spanish?

Unknown. We have no published Spanish-support claim on record for Square, so ask the vendor before you buy.

Who is Square best for?

Square fits solo owners and crews of 2–5 and 6–15 people, in all 12 trades we cover. It covers invoicing, card payments and estimates. Crew-size and trade fit are our editorial judgment based on the vendor's positioning.

No vendor paid for this page. Prices change; confirm on the vendor's site. See our methodology and disclosure.

Free newsletter

Get price-change alerts

One short email from Tools for the Trade when a tool you might use changes its price or plans. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

Sent with Kit. We'll ask you to confirm by email first.