Comparison
ChatGPT vs Claude (2026): price, fit, and which to pick
Either one can draft quotes, follow-up texts, review replies and job descriptions from your notes. For a trade business the real questions are what the free plan costs you and what you'd pay to upgrade. Everything below was read from each vendor's own page on Oct 17, 2026; unknowns are marked unknown, never guessed.
Prices checked
Short answer
Both have a $0 plan. ChatGPT adds a cheaper Go tier ($8/mo) and Plus is $20/mo; Claude Pro is $20/mo, or $17/mo billed annually. Team seats cost the same on both: $25 a seat monthly or $20 billed annually. OpenAI says it plans to test ads in ChatGPT's Free and Go tiers in the US.
ChatGPT vs Claude side by side
| ChatGPT | Claude | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free; Go $8/mo; Plus $20/mo | Free; Pro $20/mo |
| Plans & pricing | Free $0; Go $8/mo; Plus $20/mo; Business $25/user/mo monthly or $20 billed annually (2+ users). OpenAI says it plans to test ads in Free and Go in the US. | Free $0; Pro $20/mo monthly or $17/mo billed annually; Max from $100/mo; Team $25/seat monthly or $20 annually. |
| Free plan | Yes | Yes |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
| Extra users & fees | Not published / not in our data | Not published / not in our data |
| Spanish | Not published (unknown) | Not published (unknown) |
| Crew size we match | every crew size, from solo owners to 16+ people | every crew size, from solo owners to 16+ people |
| Trades we match | all 12 trades we cover | all 12 trades we cover |
| Best for | Every crew size, from solo owners to 16+ people; Trades: all 12 trades we cover; Trying it for $0: it has a free plan | Every crew size, from solo owners to 16+ people; Trades: all 12 trades we cover; Trying it for $0: it has a free plan |
| Maybe not for | Teams that need Spanish: no Spanish support published (unknown) | Teams that need Spanish: no Spanish support published (unknown) |
| Connects to (vendor-claimed) | None listed / not checked | None listed / not checked |
| Price checked & source | · vendor pricing page (read via search snippet; direct fetch blocked) | · vendor pricing page |
Which should you pick?
Pick ChatGPT if…
- You want a paid tier under $10: Go is $8/mo, Plus $20/mo.
- Your crew needs shared seats: Business is $25 per user monthly or $20 billed annually (2+ users).
Pick Claude if…
- You'll pay yearly: Pro is $17/mo billed annually ($20 monthly).
- You want a heavy-use tier: Max starts at $100/mo; Team seats are $25 monthly or $20 annually.
What we couldn't verify
- ChatGPT's Spanish support: nothing published that we found.
- ChatGPT's pricing page blocked direct reading; prices were read from the vendor page via a search snippet.
- Claude's Spanish support: nothing published that we found.
- Integrations and language support are vendor claims we have not tested.
Alternatives to ChatGPT and Claude
- Free AI assistantsGoogle GeminiFree; AI Plus $4.99/mo; AI Pro $19.99/moGoogle Gemini pricing
- Call answering (AI & live)RosieFrom $49/mo (Professional, 250 minutes)Rosie pricing
- Call answering (AI & live)Smith.ai AI ReceptionistFree (25 calls/mo); paid from $150/moSmith.ai AI Receptionist pricing
Picks for your trade
Software by trade:HVAC · Plumbing · Electrical · Roofing · Landscaping / lawn · Cleaning · Remodeling / general contracting · Painting · Pest control · Handyman · Pool service · Garage doors
ChatGPT vs Claude FAQ
Is ChatGPT cheaper than Claude?
Starting prices from the vendor pages (checked Oct 17, 2026): ChatGPT, free; Go $8/mo; Plus $20/mo. Claude, free; Pro $20/mo. Both start at $0/mo, so compare the paid tiers. Per-user fees and add-ons change the real total, so check the full plan list in the table above.
Do ChatGPT and Claude have a free trial or free plan?
ChatGPT: has a free plan; free trial not stated. Claude: has a free plan; free trial not stated. Trial terms are from each vendor's page, checked Oct 17, 2026.
Which is better for a solo owner or a small crew, ChatGPT or Claude?
We match ChatGPT to every crew size, from solo owners to 16+ people, and Claude to every crew size, from solo owners to 16+ people. By trade, ChatGPT fits all 12 trades we cover; Claude fits all 12 trades we cover. Crew-size and trade fit are our editorial judgment based on each vendor's positioning.
Do ChatGPT and Claude support Spanish?
ChatGPT: no published Spanish claim on record, so ask before you buy. Claude: no published Spanish claim on record, so ask before you buy. Language support is a vendor claim we have not tested.
Will ChatGPT show ads?
OpenAI says it plans to test ads in ChatGPT's Free and Go tiers in the US (OpenAI pricing page, checked Oct 17, 2026). We have no ad plans on record for Claude's plans.
Sources (vendor pages): ChatGPT (checked Oct 17, 2026) · Claude (checked Oct 17, 2026). Crew-size and trade fit are our editorial judgment. No vendor paid for this page. All comparisons · take the 6-question quiz.
Free newsletter
Get price-change alerts
One short email from Tools for the Trade when a tool you might use changes its price or plans. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.
Sent with Kit. We'll ask you to confirm by email first.